Methods for enrolling subscribers into automations

Available on Scale and Enterprise plans. Click here to upgrade your account.

We are continuously improving our automations suite of features to broaden your creative and marketing possibilities; for more information about setting up automations in your account, go here. In this article, we’ll focus on 2 different ways you can enroll subscribers into your new or pre-existing automation workflows or journeys.

With the Segment Action trigger, you can enroll subscribers into automations based on their entry or exit from specific segments. This approach proves particularly valuable when creating segments of highly engaged readers, allowing you to enroll them in relevant journeys upon meeting certain criteria, or gently nudge them when they no longer meet engagement thresholds.

With the Enroll in Automation node, you can seamlessly transition subscribers from one automation into another to guide them through multiple workflows. This feature proves invaluable for scenarios such as automatically enrolling subscribers who complete a welcome series and are moving into an upsell series.

How to enroll subscribers using the Segment Action trigger

1. From the left hand panel in your account, go to Write > Automations and then either create a new automation or open a workflow that you would like to update. 

2. Once in the workflow builder, click on the Add Trigger button. 

 

3. A new panel will open on the left, click on Add Trigger and then select Segment Action from the trigger options.

 

4. In the first option, select whether you’d like this to trigger when someone enters a segment or exits a segment.

 

5. In the second option, click the arrows to choose the segment you’d like to apply this to.

 

6. (Optional) You can further customize the trigger by clicking on the +Add Conditions button or selecting to add another trigger. 


7. Review your selections and then activate the trigger by toggling it on so that it turns pink. A confirmation message will appear, click to Confirm

 

8. Once activated, you’ll see that the trigger in your workflow is colored now, meaning it is live. Then to close the trigger panel, be sure to click on Save

 

Tech Note: Entry or exit into a segment does not occur in real-time. Instead, it happens upon segment recalculation, typically once a day or when you manually recalculate a segment.

 

How to use the Enroll in Automation node

1. From the left panel in your account, go to Write > Automations and then either create a new automation or open a workflow that you would like to update. 

2. Once in the workflow builder, you’ll see your Actions menu on the left. You can also collapse this menu at any time by clicking on the arrow icon. 

 

Below Flow control, select the Enroll in Automation option, then drag and place it in the desired spot of your workflow.

 3. After you add it to the workflow, click on the Configure step icon found in the right corner of the Enroll in Automation node.


 

4. The node form will appear on the left. Select the automation you’d like to enroll subscribers into from the options in your account. 

 

5. (Optional) You can further customize the node by clicking on the +Add Conditions button. 

 

6. Review your selections and then activate the node by toggling it on so that it turns pink. A confirmation message will appear, click to Confirm

 

 

7. Once activated, you’ll see that the node in your workflow is colored now, meaning it is live. Then to close the node panel, be sure to click on Save

 

 

In the example below, the node that is attached to the trigger indicates that subscribers from another automation will be enrolled here via Referring Automations, which is what the name of the node will change to once it is activated. 

 

Notes about using the Enroll in Automation node:

  • Subscribers from the previous workflow will be automatically enrolled in the specified workflow, regardless of any trigger conditions set within that workflow.
  • If you have re-entry conditions specified in a particular workflow, they will still be applied to subscribers enrolled via the ‘Enroll in automation step’.
  • When activated, the name of this node will change from ‘Enroll in Automation’ to ‘Referring Automations’ and will also be in color.

 

Was this article helpful?