How to change your beehiiv Plan Type and Plan Tier

This article goes over how to make changes to your beehiiv Plan Types and Plan Tiers. The cost of each Plan Type depends on your subscriber Plan Tier, for more information on various types and tiers that are available, please check out Plan Types and Subscriber Plan Tier Pricing.

Upgrades

How to upgrade your Plan Type

  1. From the left panel Dashboard, scroll down to click on Settings, and then select Billing.

  2. Under the Usage Information section, click on the arrow next to the Upgrade button and select Upgrade Plan Type.



  3. You’ll be taken to your Stripe Billing Portal to choose your plan. You can toggle between a Monthly or Yearly view. Pricing varies based on your number of active subscribers. For more details, please visit our pricing page.
    Review your options and then click on the Select button under your desired plan.



  4. Once your plan shows as Selected, click on the Continue button.

  5. You’ll be presented with a breakdown of what you’ll be charged today and on your next billing cycle date, review it, and then click on the Confirm button.



    You can also click on Go Back to make adjustments to your selections.

    Note: If you don’t have a payment method on file, you’ll arrive at a page where you can add that info. After including a payment method, click on the Continue button.



    Once done, you’ll be brought back to your beehiiv account where you will see that the upgrade is in place. It will show your current plan and rate, as well as your upcoming rate on your next billing cycle date.


How to upgrade your Plan Tier

  1. From the left panel Dashboard, scroll down to click on Settings, and then select Billing.

  2. Under the Usage Information section, click on the arrow next to the Upgrade button and select Upgrade Plan Tier.



  3. You’ll be asked to confirm moving to the next tier up. Review the amounts and click on the Confirm button. 



    If you need to upgrade to a Plan Tier above the next tier available, please contact Support for further assistance.
    To view our pricing across our subscriber Plan Tiers, check out our pricing page


Downgrades and cancellations

How to downgrade your Plan Type

  1. From the left panel Dashboard, scroll down to click on Settings, and then select Billing.

  2. Under the Cancellation Actions section, click on the Downgrade button.



  3. If you’re on the Max Annual plan, a popup will appear where you can choose to Change to monthly billing, Downgrade to Scale plan, where you’ll be redirected to Stripe to make your selections, or Downgrade to free for our free Launch plan.

    Downgrade Plan.02.png

    If you’re on the Max Monthly plan, a popup will appear where you can choose to either Downgrade to Scale plan, where you’ll be redirected to Stripe to make your selections, or Downgrade to free for our free Launch plan.

    Downgrade Plan.03.png

    If you’re on the Scale Annual plan, a popup will appear where you can choose to either Change to monthly billing, where you’ll be redirected to Stripe to make your selections, or Downgrade to free for our free Launch plan.

    Downgrade Plan.04.png

    If you’re on the Scale Monthly plan, you won’t encounter a popup and will proceed to the next step.

    For all plans, you will be presented with a confirmation form, please make a selection and then click on Continue. Or, you can opt to remain on your current plan by selecting Nevermind, keep my plan. 

    Downgrade Plan.05.png
     
  4. If you’re on a monthly plan, you will have the option to pause your plan for up to 30 days, starting at the end of your current billing cycle. During the paused period, your plan will revert to the feature set of our free Launch plan, which includes a sending limit of 2,500 subscribers.

    Click on the Pause Plan button if you would like to proceed.

    Downgrade Plan.06.png

  5. A final recap of what you can expect when you downgrade will appear. Carefully review the information, then click on Downgrade to continue.

    This is the last opportunity to change your mind, to do so, select Nevermind, keep my plan to opt to remain on your current plan.

    Downgrade Plan.08.png


  6. Otherwise, check the box that confirms you understand your plan will change, and then click on Cancel my plan in the bottom right corner.

  7. After downgrading, you’ll be brought back to your beehiiv account where you will see that the new plans for your upcoming downgrade are in place. It will show your current plan and rate, the upcoming plan and new rate, and the next billing cycle date that the upcoming plan will begin on.

    You will still have access to your current plan until the end of your current billing period.


How to cancel a Plan Type downgrade

You can cancel a Plan Type downgrade if it is before your next billing cycle date. To do so, go to Settings > Billing and scroll down to the Cancelation Actions section. Click on the Cancel Downgrade button.



A popup will appear giving you an opportunity to review the requested changes, where you can either Cancel or click on Proceed.




How to downgrade your Plan Tier

If you need to downgrade to a Plan Tier below your current tier, please contact Support for further assistance.

 

Was this article helpful?